The Wine Club

Every time the big wine box arrives it feels like Christmas. Little did I know I was going to get hooked when I responded to the trial offer. Bargain hunter me pulled out the calculator to figure out what the cost per bottle would be: Fifteen bottles of good wine (as in not cheap – not that I have a problem with cheap wine since I’ve enjoyed plenty of great inexpensive wine) for the introductory club price of $69.99 plus $19.99 shipping worked out to be $6 per bottle, with no further commitment and no strings attached. Now I absolutely detest paying for shipping because it always seems like wasted money to me. But wowsers! Couldn’t pass that up! So I signed up and it was love at first sip. I mean really. We selected a red wine to open first, and I’ve always been more of a fan of white. Turns out that particular bottle was my perfect red. I’m not a wine connoisseur and don’t know the proper terminology to describe the complexities, nuances, undertones and all that fancy wine stuff…all I knew was that was the best red I’d ever tasted. And it still is after opening many more bottles of great reds, including an aged reserve bottle that arrived withR wine bottle gold wiring around it to set it apart from the others. But The Inaugural from California is my favorite. So yeah we’ve continued the subscription and receive a shipment every 3 months, which can be omitted or delayed upon request. The shipment averages out to $14 per bottle with the shipping factored in. Still not a fan of paying for shipping, but oh well, it can’t be helped and I do realize that it’s quite heavy and takes some care for twelve glass bottles to arrive safe and sound. Any bottle that is broken or just simply not to our taste is readily replaced. For free. Haven’t had to do that yet. So far it’s been all good.

Leave a Reply

