Essential Oil Face Wash

So I’ve been meaning to try this home made foaming face wash for quite a while. Its simple ingredients appealed to me, and it just so happened I had them all on hand! Only thing I didn’t have was a small foaming dispenser. I purchased an inexpensive foaming face wash at the store, used it up since it was perfectly good and am now re-purposing the bottle. That was the reason for the delay, but today was the day! I made it and I tried it. I was pleased with how it easily foamed upon being pumped. I thought it felt “thinner”, or more watery than I expected as I lathered my face. It smelled fantastic and it rinsed off easily. My face felt cleansed and soft after toweling dry. It didn’t feel like my skin was tight or dried out. Overall, I’m pleased with my home made product. I think I’ll add a bit more castile soap to the bottle in hopes of it feeling less watery, a little more substantial.

I found the directions on Pinterest and the pin links back to One Essential Community, but not to the original face wash recipe. This page with five cleanser recipes was the closest I could find. The acne-prone face wash contains the same ingredients I used but the quantities are much larger, so a large soap dispenser is required. The recipe I followed came close to filling the 5 ounce foaming dispenser I re-purposed. I like the smaller quantity as a trial size anyway!

Here it is:

  • 2 tbsp. unscented castile soap
  • 2 tbsp. witch hazel
  • 10 drops lavender essential oil
  • 10 drops melaleuca essential oil (tea tree oil)
  • 10 drops lemongrass essential oil
  • 1/4 cup distilled water

Combine all ingredients in a foaming dispenser bottle and shake before each use. The benefits of these ingredients, especially the essential oils are amazing for your skin! The lavender is soothing, normalizing, and balancing. The lemongrass has antiseptic and astringent qualities. The tea tree oil is antibacterial.

facewash

***Note: I substituted the lemongrass essential oil with the Lemon Eucalyptus from Now Foods, which is a blend of pure lemon oil, pure eucalyptus oil and pure lemongrass oil. Its benefits as listed on the bottle are clarifying, cleansing, and invigorating. Great for a face wash! Please do not confuse it with pure 100% lemon eucalyptus oil, which comes from a specific variety of eucalyptus, and is completely different. That one is a potent bug repellent…not to be used on your face as a cleanser! I do wish that Now Foods would rename their oil blend as people can easily make a mistake.

Leave a Reply

