Coconut Cream Coffee Cocktail

I had leftover cream of coconut to use up from a coconut cake I made for my book club meeting. We read The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and the cake was featured in the story with the recipe included at the end.

I looked up uses for coconut cream other than desserts. I hit upon lots of fruity warm weather-type cocktails, but it’s rather cold right now in Jersey so I was craving something more soothing and comforting. This is my own tweaked version inspired by a drink on the Magic Skillet website by contributor Slava Bondarev. The recipe was for Coconut Cappuccino Cream Liqueur. It sounded good for a cold weather drink, but the ingredients seemed to be for an over the top sweet concoction. Cream of coconut is already quite sweet, so I omitted the condensed milk and the chocolate syrup, increased the milk and replaced the instant cappuccino coffee with regular instant coffee powder.

For one large serving or two small ones you’ll need:

  • 1/4 cup cream of coconut
  • 1/4 cup low fat milk
  • 1/4 cup brandy
  • 1/8 cup vodka (I used coconut flavored but plain or chocolate flavor should be fine)
  • 2 tsp. instant coffee powder

Mix all ingredients well in a glass measuring cup, taking care to dissolve the coffee. Serve chilled or warmed with whipped cream on top if desired. I tried and liked it both ways.

For the record, the book was okay, the cake was good, the icing a bit too sweet, but this drink is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

